Coleridge Initiative

Meet the Team

Board of Directors

Julia Lane

Co-founder and Director

Julia is a cofounder of the Coleridge Initiative and a Professor and a Provostial Fellow at NYU. She is the author or editor of 12 books and over 80 scientific articles. Julia is an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the International Statistical Institute and the American Statistical Association. She is the recipient of the 2014 Julius Shiskin award, the 2014 Roger Herriot award and the 2017 Warren E. Miller Award.

Rayid Ghani​


Rayid Ghani is a Distinguished Career Professor in the Machine Learning Department in the School of Computer Science and the Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University. He is a co-founder of Edgeflip, an analytics startup that grew out of the Obama 2012 Campaign, focused on social media products for non-profits, advocacy groups, and charities. Ghani also started and runs the Eric & Wendy Schmidt Data Science for Social Good Summer Fellowship.

Frauke Kreuter​


Frauke Kreuter is a sociologist and statistician who works as professor and Director of the Joint Program in Survey Methodology of the University of Maryland, College Park. She also holds a professorship at the University of Mannheim, and is Head of the Statistical Methods Research Department at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) in Nuremberg, Germany.

Michael Holland​


Michael is the Vice Chancellor, Science Policy & Research Strategies at the University of Pittsburgh. He has a broad range of science policy experience in government and as an academic administrator. His government experience includes serving as Senior Advisor and Staff Director, Office of the Under Secretary for Science, U.S. Department of Energy; program examiner, Office of Management & Budget (OMB); senior policy analyst, Office of Science & Technology Policy (OSTP); and Chairman’s designee, Energy Subcommittee, Committee on Science, U.S. House of Representatives.

Evan Absher​


Evan Absher, senior program officer for the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, works to identify ways to help cities further innovation and growth. He helps educate policymakers on new insights and understandings based on research, and provides support for the Foundation in the formation of applicable local policies and programs. Prior to joining the Foundation, Absher worked as a special assistant for Policy in the Office of Mayor Sly James, Mayor of Kansas City, Mo. Absher earned both his juris doctor and bachelor’s degrees from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Robert Goerge​


Robert M. Goerge is a Chapin Hall senior research fellow with more than 35 years of experience in research focused on improving the available data and information on children and families.  He is a member of the Committee on National Statistics. He is also co-chair and co-founder of the International Society for Child Indicators. Goerge received his M.A. and Ph.D. in social policy from The University of Chicago.

Senior Staff

John Anner

Chief Operations Officer

Nathan Barrett

Director, Training & Outreach

Ismail Coskun


Julia Lane

Co-Founder and Director